Domain Name Scams
fighting to put domain name scamming companies out of business

Shanghai MP Network Solutions Co Ltd - +(86)21-5271-5980 - Domain Name Scammers

Company Name(s): Shanghai MP Network Solutions Co Ltd
Telephone: +(86)21-5271-5980
Website: www.mp-china.org.cn
Status: Active
Last Updated: 7th March 2008
Known Staff:
(could be aliases)
Gordon Xiang
Benny Zhao
Tim Xiong

Address: 11/F, Building A, Oasis Plaza, 137 Bailan Road, Puto District, Shanghai, China

Domain Name Scam Techniques Used

This company in China appear to be using a spin on the telesales scam, instead sending out official looking emails claiming that they have someone about to register ... domain names

The email we have received a copy of, claims registration for .cn and .asia domains. .asia domains are still in pre-registration, and they are only accepting trade marks at this stage. As a result, we have put the status as "unconfirmed" until we get more information.

Latest News

This company also trades as Shanghai MIP Internet Solutions Co Ltd

What can I do if I have been scammed by Shanghai MP Network Solutions Co Ltd?

You can get general advice from our Help! I've Been Scammed page or by reading the user experiences below. Make sure you act quickly!

Specific Advice

We will post specific advice for this scammer if we become aware of any police or Trading Standards investigations.

Experiences and Comments

Please register or log in (using the form on the left hand side of the page) to relate your experiences. Comments from new users are moderated.

5 comments to date. Newest comments displayed first.

Roland Siebelink - 29th June 2010

Similar one here:

Received: by 10.216.22.66 with SMTP id s44cs85494wes;
Mon, 28 Jun 2010 02:58:44 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.223.56.206 with SMTP id z14mr3577354fag.97.1277719123795;
Mon, 28 Jun 2010 02:58:43 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn>
Received: from phi.phiscape.com (ip183-130.ghnet.pl [83.175.183.130])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id s7si21863566faa.40.2010.06.28.02.58.42;
Mon, 28 Jun 2010 02:58:42 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 83.175.183.130 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn) client-ip=83.175.183.130;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: 83.175.183.130 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn) smtp.mail=kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn
Received: from mx621.now.net.cn (unknown [202.105.179.53])
by phi.phiscape.com (Postfix) with SMTP id 9082E1CA0398;
Mon, 28 Jun 2010 11:58:39 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from unknow ([114.92.142.161])
by mx621.now.net.cn (V4.6) with SMTP ID 9974
for <team@topicmarks.com>;
Mon, 28 Jun 2010 17:58:34 +0800 (GMT+08:00)
Date: Mon, 28 Jun 2010 17:58:34 +0800 (GMT+08:00)
From: "kevin.wu" <kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn>
To: "team" <team@topicmarks.com>
Subject: URGENT --dispute of internet intellectual property safeguard
Message-ID: <201006281758329216345@qp-world.org.cn>
X-mailer: Foxmail 6, 4, 104, 20 [cn]
Disposition-Notification-To: "kevin.wu" <kevin.wu@qp-world.org.cn>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="=====003_Dragon773743801365_====="
X-TM-ORIGINAL-IP: 114.92.142.161
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit


(If you are NOT CEO,please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Jun. 26, 2010, One company which self-styled "Mintor(Japan)Venture Capital Co.,Ltd" are applying to register(topicmarks) as internet brand name and domain names as below (topicmarks.cn topicmarks.com.cn topicmarks.mobi topicmarks.asia topicmarks.in topicmarks.hk topicmarks.tw etc.).

After our initial checking, we found the internet brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 15 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by "Mintor(Japan)Venture Capital Co.,Ltd" unconditionally.

Please forward the email to your decision maker,and let them contact me in time,so that we can handle this in reasonable,Look forwarding to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wu
Senior Director
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax: +86 21 69929447
Website:http://www.qp-world.org.cn
Address:Room 902,8th,nong 1518,Jinyuan 1st Road,Jiading District, Shanghai city.
Tim Parker - 20th June 2008

There's also another variation, Chinese Domain Solutions,Inc. Contact details very similar thus:

Jack Chen
Senior consultant
Chinese Domain Solutions,Inc
Phone: +86-21-52715980
Fax: +86-21-52715978
Website: www.china-DomainSolutions.com
Address&#65306;11/F, Building A, Oasis Plaza, 147 Bailan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China
Leonie Gully - 4th March 2008

Unfortunately we were unaware of this scam and fell for it in a limited way. We applied for 2 domains to be registered of which only the .cn domain was. We are not listed as the administrative contact for this domain despite repeated requests.
We sent money by Telegraphic Transfer to an account at the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China.
Although we feel foolish we are pleased that our losses were not as great as they could have been.
We are in the process of attempting to change the administrative contact for the .cn domain with the current registrar.

Kostas Tsonas - 19th February 2008

We received this fro them (about a subsidiary company - informerfinancial.com):

From: benny.zhao [mailto:benny.zhao@mp-china.org.cn]
Sent: Tuesday, February 19, 2008 8:34 AM
To: ELEFTHERAKI MAGDA
Subject: Urgent—Someone intend to register these domain names



(If you are NOT CEO,please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on February 18th 2008, One company in Middle East which self-styled "Bulletech, Co." are applying to register "informerfinancial" as internet brand and CN domain names as below :

informerfinancial.cn
informerfinancial.com.cn
informerfinancial.com.tw
informerfinancial.hk
informerfinancial.net.cn
informerfinancial.org.cn
informerfinancial.tw.

After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark.These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please contact us as soon as possible.

In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is ten days. If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Bulletech, Co.".

Best Regards,

Benny Zhao

Senior consultant

Tel: +0086-21-5271-5980 Fax: +0086-21-5271-5978

Website: http://www.mp-china.org.cn

2008-02-19

bob dalby - 17th January 2008

WE have recently received the following E-mail, which sounds so similar to otheres reported on this site:

(If you are NOT CEO,please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on January 15th 2008, One company which self-styled "Dana Holdings Inc" are applying to register "spicers" as internet brand and CN domain names as below :

spicers.com.tw
spicers.hk
spicers.net.cn
spicers.org.cn
spicers.tw
After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company?s name and trademark.These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please contact us as soon as possible.
In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is ten days. If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Dana Holdings Inc.".


Best Regards,


Gordon Xiang
Senior consultant
Tel: +0086-21-5271-5980 Fax: +0086-21-5271-5978
Website: http://www.mp-china.org.cn

Address: 11/F, Building A, Oasis Plaza, 137 Bailan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

2008-01-16